Agency Corporations.—An agency corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for the management of trading or service operations on a quasi-commercial basis or for the management of procurement, construction or disposal activities on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada. The following agency corporations are listed in Schedule C to the Financial Administration Act or have been subsequently added to that Schedule by the Governor in Council:—

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited
Canadian Arsenals Limited
Canadian Commercial Corporation
Canadian Patents and Development Limited
Crown Assets Disposal Corporation
Defence Construction (1951) Limited
National Battlefields Commission
Northern Canada Power Commission (formerly Northwest Territories Power
Commission)
National Capital Commission (formerly Federal District Commission)
National Harbours Board
Park Steamship Company Limited.

Two corporations, Canadian Sugar Stabilization Corporation Limited and Commodity Prices Stabilization Corporation Limited, listed in Schedule C when the Financial Administration Act was proclaimed, have since discontinued operations and surrendered their charters. By an Order in Council of June 15, 1955, the name of the Northwest Territories Power Commission (now Northern Canada Power Commission) was deleted from Schedule D and added to Schedule C, effective Apr. 1, 1954.

Proprietary Corporations.—A proprietary corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that (1) is responsible for the management of lending or financial operations, or for the management of commercial or industrial operations involving the production of or dealing in goods and the supplying of services to the public, and (2) is ordinarily required to conduct its operations without Parliamentary appropriations. The following proprietary corporations are listed in Schedule D to the Act or have been subsequently added to that Schedule by the Governor in Council:—

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships Limited
Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation
Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation
Eldorado Aviation Limited
Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited
Export Credits Insurance Corporation
Farm Credit Corporation (formerly Canadian Farm Loan Board)

National Railways, as defined in the Canadian National-Canadian Pacific Act, 1933

Northern Transportation Company Limited Polymer Corporation Limited

The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority

Cornwall International Bridge Company Limited (subsidiary to the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority)

Trans-Canada Air Lines.

Departmental corporations are governed by the provisions of the Financial Administration Act that are applicable to departments generally. Agency and proprietary corporations, however, are subject to the provisions of the Crown corporations Part of the Act although, if there is any inconsistency between the provisions of that Part and those of any other Act applicable to a corporation, the Act provides that the latter prevail. There is provision in the Part for the control and regulation of such matters as corporation budgets and bank accounts, the turning over to the Receiver General of surplus money, limited loans for working-capital purposes, the awarding of contracts and the establishment of reserves, the keeping and auditing of accounts, and the preparation of financial statements and reports and their submission to Parliament through the appropriate Minister.